Skip to content

Diwali – Festival of Lights

October 18, 2009

This Diwali, I had two very close shaves when I was on the road.   And both were with crackers.   I just can’t understand wherefrom this custom of bursting crackers originated.   Diwali is supposed to be a festival of lights – and that means lighting of diyas, candles, and lighting up your house.     I was riding on scooter, when a man fired a Seven-Shots like thingy.   I never expected it(i guess even that man did not expect it), but it exploded right at the place where it was kept.   It never went up…and I was literally covered in sparkles.  It was like an umbrella, and I was under it, and that too on a scooter!

My second encounter followed this one a couple of hours later.   A man fired a rocket – it went up about 1 metre, tilted and was moving parallel to my scooter.  I followed its entire trajectory, till it burst right in front of my face!!!   I was really lucky because it wasn’t a good quality rocket, and it didn’t  create  much  effect.

Now, after a day when I think of this experience, I feel it was quite exciting!   Anyways, my  anti-crackers feeling just got stronger…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Gaurav Sood permalink
    October 18, 2009 5:13 pm

    oooooh…close shaves rlly
    thats one of the reasons why i’m an anti-cracker man..

  2. October 19, 2009 11:17 am

    that was close. I had a few close ones myself here. This cracker menace must be curbed.

Leave a comment